21. The Family Foundation School

The Family Foundation School located in Hancock, New York opened in 1984 and closed around 2014.

Teenagers being duck taped, restrained and hunted by dogs when they try to escape this boarding school seems to be a vital part of the schools story.

It doesn’t sound like a nice place for teenagers and an American Human rights organization named CAFETY are on the case, but they have not been able to close the school down yet.

Anyhow here are some quotes from the article I have listed as source:

“The horrors I faced at The Family School are so many that I could probably fill
an entire book… I quickly found myself denied every imaginable right. I spent
most of my time sitting in a chair facing a corner. They took my shoes and I had
to walk through the winter snow in sandals. I would spend hours at a sitting
facing the corner of the room….” – Charlie C

“Three staff proceeded to then throw me on the ground and restrain me. As a
result I got a cut on my face and my wrist was sprained. I also had many bruises
on my body.” – Alex D

Update October 2014

The facility was renamed to Allynwood Academy to avoid the consequences from public speeching from former students. It did not save the school and they had to close in 2014

Sources:


Update 2022

An article mentions a lawsuit.

Source:

Survivor993 Is Not Alone: Lawsuits Show Abuse at School for At-Risk Teens (The New York Times)


Update 2023

A Podcast was released offering more details on the life, the detainees had at the facility.


Update 2024

A former employee is under investigaton for abuse.

Music Teacher Is Charged With Taking Teenagers on Trips to Abuse Them (The New York Times)

Tags: , , , ,

About jack1993

Gymnasieelev bosiddende i Aalborg

Leave a comment