475. Liahona Academy

This facility located near Hurricane in Utah is male-only. Today it is mostly known for a death, which occured around 2010. Several employees used to work for the now-closed controversial Cross Creek facility.

The students seems to have been subjected to forced hair cuts. A former student named Ryan writes:

It’s my moral obligation to inform parents of the abuse. After suffering from clinical depression and being diagnosed as having a true chemical imbalance I can tell you The actions takin at this school only worsened my condition. After attempting suicide while in attendance and being beaten by Parker Haslam (on multiple occasions) I was told by Parker himself that I should kill myself, But I wouldn’t be able to because I was so selfish. Every cry for help was called manipulation by the staff and this facility left me with trauma that still creeps up till this day. I’m a grown man now, I’ve had real phsychological help from a therapist who actually addresses my issues including the trauma I received from the mental/physical abuse at liahona. I’m happy and have found joy in life again thanks to God and the love of my family. I just have to speak my peace about the abuses here and both me and my mother regret ever deciding to attend this program.

A strange essay program combined with schooling which is difficult to get credits for when the teenagers return to their home state makes it safe to state that it cannot be fun to be there as a teenager.

Sources:

Tags: , ,

About benteshjemmeblog

Servicemedarbejder, mor til to børn, gift Dyrker motionsløb

Leave a Reply

