270. Adirondack Leadership Expeditions

Adirondack Leadership Expeditions was a wilderness program which was open between 2003 and 2013. Local citizens were worried about the presence of the teenagers as result of some of the teenagers having escaped the program.

The program used muscle men to drag teenagers to the program. Due to the large forest an expedition even got lost and had to be rescued.

A former student writes:

After a five or six hour drive we arrived in the Adirondack mountains. I remember being taken out of the car and up to the room where the director of the program was. About eight staff members were standing around me in the room and they asked me a bunch of questions about how i felt. I didn’t’t’t feel particularly good at the moment and then the drove me out to a forest. It was snowing out and the temperature was -10. They told me to take off my clothes
so I could get into gear. I was outside without clothing for i guess about five minutes and then I was blindfolded and guided through the woods where the staff gave me my course book. I spent my first three nights with two staff before i went to my actual group. When i met the group i was with a bunch of kids in the same situation. During my entire stay in wilderness it was freezing outside. There were some nights it was so cold they had to let us use tents they
use on the base camp of Mount Everest. There was one day I remember it was so
cold i could not move my fingers

It could not have been fun to be there as a teenager.

Sources:

Tags: , , ,

About birthe1951

Jeg sidder her og venter på at få overstået de sidste år inden at jeg går på efterløn. Ryggen er ikke god længere og min mand er faldet bort. Jeg kunne gå efter et skånejob men et eller andet sted er jeg for stolt. Jeg har altid klaret mig selv siden at jeg flyttede sammen med min afdøde mand. Børn fik vi aldrig, men både min bror og min søster har nogle som jeg har nydt at være sammen med. Min fritid går med at læse gammel litteratur og jeg er flittigt bruger af bibliotekets læsesal i min sparsomme fritid, så jeg kan holde mig opdateret om tingenes tilstand. Ja og så blev jeg bruger af denne nymodens teknologi med ekspertise på brugerniveau med hensyn til både maskinel og programmel, som de unge kalder hard- og software. Indtil 2013 holdte min blog til på Avisen 24 timers hjemmeside, men tiderne var dårlige og avisen lukkede d. 21 marts 2013. Derfor transporterede jeg alle blog-indlæg hertil og nu fortsætter jeg min skriveri her.

Leave a Reply

